Music Educator Honoured with Owl Award

Posted On Tuesday December 17, 2019
Hogeveen crop_
Owl award recipient Robert Hogeveen and Kathleen Karpuk, Chair, Board of Education

Robert Hogeveen, a long-standing advocate for music education was recognized with the Owl Award for Excellence in Public Education for his contributions to learning throughout the region at the regular public meeting of the Board of Education on Monday. 

“We are proud to honour Robert Hogeveen for his important roles in the community as an advocate for music education,” said Chair Kathleen Karpuk, SD73. “He is being recognized for his dedication, passion and extensive contributions to students as they expand their musical skills and learn to appreciate the joys of music.”

Whether teaching music to elementary children at Lloyd George, where he is currently, or at South Sa-Hali Elementary where he was from 2000 to 2011 or commanding the attention of young musicians at the Kamloops Interior Summer School of Music (KISSM), Hogeveen inspires young people to follow their passion and reach their potential throughout the district.

 “This is such an honour, to be recognized for teaching music, a precious gift that I get to offer my students every day,” Hogeveen said. “Music class is a lab that offers the opportunity to teach the skill of music and how to learn, how to identify and clarify problems, and then how to creatively develop strategies to solve them.”

Hogeveen has introduced many initiatives to inspire the love of music including the annual Squeak and Squawk, collaboration with classroom teachers to connect classroom learnings to the musical repertoire of music class, joint concerts with other schools, and using technology for individualized teaching.  He is the longest-serving faculty member of the KISSM.  

Established in 2015 by former superintendent Dr. Terry Sullivan, the Owl Award is for an individual, group or organization that has made significant, system-wide and outstanding contributions to public education in School District No. 73 over a period of time (five years or more), and have had a positive, significant impact on the development of students, parents, teachers, support staff and educational leaders.

A five-member review team consisting of Kathleen Karpuk, Chair; Alison Sidow, Superintendent; Airini, Dean, Faculty of Education Thompson Rivers University; Danalee Baker, Executive Director, United Way; and Diane Jules, Trustee, and Chair Aboriginal Education Council; recommended Robert Hogeveen as the recipient of the School District No. 73 Award for Excellence in Public Education.



Contact Us