About the Board

The Board controls governance and policy

The Ministry of Education sets the general direction for K-12 education, including the curriculum, funding amounts and the legal framework within which the Board operates. The Board is responsible for governing the school district in accordance with the policy direction established by government.

The structure of the school district mirrors the model of the Ministry of Education. Trustees are the political wing and control governance and policy. Day-to-day operations of the school district are delegated to the Superintendent and other district staff, including the Secretary Treasurer and Assistant Superintendents. The Board sets overall direction of the District, and decisions are made by vote.

The respective responsibilities of each are detailed in the School Act, which outlines the primary functions of the Board, including

  • Setting local policy for effective and efficient operation of schools
  • Employing the staff necessary for school district operations
  • Establishing conditions of employment for employees
  • Preparing and approving the District’s operating budgets and capital plans
  • Hearing appeals from parents and students


Budget 2022 Presentation

Trustee Heather Grieve discussed her September 28 presentation (Budget 2022: Select Standing Committee on Finance and Governance Services) to the Budget Committee and spoke to the enrollment pressures projected within the district by 2026. View the presentation here 



Trustee Joe Small announced that, despite COVID-19 hindering the success of the program, Raise-a-Reader garnered over $33,000 in community sponsorships and school support during September’s campaign. The schools alone raised $2,235 from their Loonies for Literacy campaign, with R.L. Clemitson, McGowan and Dallas Elementary schools taking the top three spots. A special thanks to Assistant Superintendent Grant Reilly for helping promote the cause with the help of the school principals.

In addition to regular board meetings, much of the work done by the Board of Education involves committees

Committees are essential in the helping the Board achieve its goals. Working through committee means assembling people, facilitating debate on important issues, and creating effective forums for decision making. The Board participates in eight internal committees and four external ones.

Internal Committees

  • Board Standing Committees - All trustees are able to attend, or may choose to sit more formally as a committee of a whole on these standing committees.
  • Contractual Committees - Only trustees named or appointed to contractual committees may attend these meetings, which address issues of concern to employee groups. 

External Committees

The Board has been invited to participate in several committees. Trustees represent the Board as a whole on these committees.

Board Standing Committees

Committees of the Board reporting to the Board to vet issues in five specific areas. All Trustees may attend and the Board may choose to sit more formally as a Committee of the Whole.

Policy Committee

Trustees: Joseph Small (Chair); Cara McKelvey; Kathleen Karpuk

Alternate: Shelley Sim

Staff: Rhonda Nixon; Trina Cassidy

Finance & Planning Committee

Trustees: Rhonda Kershaw (Chair); Shelley Sim; John O’Fee

Alternate: Meghan Wade

Staff: Rhonda Nixon; Trina Cassidy

Audit Committee

Trustees: Heather Grieve (Chair); Meghan Wade (Vice-Chair); Rhonda Kershaw (F&P Chair)

Alternate: McInulty (Member at Large)

Staff: Rhonda Nixon; Trina Cassidy

Education Committee of the Whole

Trustees: Meghan Wade (Chair); All Trustees

Alternate: Shelley Sim

Staff: Rhonda Nixon

Student Advisory Council Committee

Trustees: Heather Grieve; Shelley Sim

Alternate: Cara McKelvey

Staff: Rick Kienlein

Human Resources Committee

Trustees: Meghan Wade (Chair); Diane Jules; John O'Fee

Alternate: Heather Grieve

Staff: Rhonda Nixon; Trina Cassidy

Contractual Committees

Committees covered in contact with employee groups. Only those Trustees named, or their appointed alternate may attend.

KTTA Joint Labour Liaison Committee

Trustees: Cara McKelvey; Shelley Sim

Alternate: John O'Fee

Staff: Shayne Olsen

CUPE Labour Management Committee

Trustees: Joseph Small

Alternate: Diane Jules

Staff: Shayne Olsen

Step 4 Grievance Committee

Trustees: John O'Fee

Alternate: Meghan Wade

Staff: Trina Cassidy

External Committees

Committees of other entities in which the Board has been invited to participate. Trustees to represent the Board as a Whole on these Committees.

Aboriginal Education Council Committee

Trustees: Diane Jules

Alternate: Heather Grieve

District Parent Advisory Council Committee
Trustees: Rhonda Kershaw; Cara McKelvey
Literacy in Kamloops (LinK) Committee
Trustees: Joseph Small
Industry Advisory Committee
Trustees: Joseph Small
Community Liaisons
District of Barriere
Trustees: Rhonda Kershaw
District of Clearwater
Trustees: Shelley Sim
District of Logan Lake
Trustees: Cara McKelvey
Village of Chase
Trustees: Diane Jules
Municipality of Sun Peaks
Trustees: Diane Jules
City of Kamloops
Trustees: Kathleen Karpuk; Joseph Small; Heather Grieve; Meghan Wade; John O’Fee

Contact Us