Trustee Elections

Trustee Elections

2022 General Local Election for School Trustees 

The next General Local Election for School Trustees of the Board of Education of School District No. 73 (Kamloops-Thompson) will be held on October 15, 2022. School Trustees are elected for a four-year term and elections occur at the same time as the municipal election.  

The Board of Education of School District No. 73 (Kamloops-Thompson) is comprised of nine (9) trustees representing the following areas:

  • Five (5) trustees from Trustee Electoral Area 1 – Kamloops, being the City of Kamloops; and,
  • One (1) trustee for each of the following areas of the Thompson Nicola Regional District:
    • Trustee Electoral Area 2 – North Thompson, including areas “A” Wells Gray Country and “B” Thompson Headwaters, including the District of Clearwater;
    • Trustee Electoral Area 3 – Barriere/Little Fort, including area “O” Lower North Thompson, including the District of Barriere;
    • Trustee Electoral Area 4 – Chase, including areas “L” and “P” Rivers and the Peaks, including Sun Rivers, the Village of Chase and the Mountain Resort Municipality of Sun Peaks; and,
    • Trustee Electoral Area 5 – Logan Lake, including area “J” Copper Desert Country, including the District of Logan Lake.

A map of the Trustee Electoral Areas within School District No. 73 (Kamloops-Thompson) can be found here.

Declaration of Election by Acclamation

Pursuant  to section 98 of the Local Government Act the Chief Election Officer of School District No. 73 (Kamloops-Thompson) has declared the candidates listed below for Trustee Electoral Areas 2, 3, 4 and 5 in the 2022 School Trustee election to be elected by acclamation. Nomination documents may be viewed by clicking on the candidate’s name.

Trustee Electoral Areas

Area 1 (Kamloops)

Area 2 (North Thompson)

Area 3 (Barriere-Little Fort)

Area 4 (Chase)

Area 5 (Logan Lake)


Click here to see Area 1 Nominations

Shelley Sim

Rhonda Kershaw

Diane Jules

Cara McKelvey

By Voting / Acclamation

To be elected by voting

Elected by acclamation

Elected by acclamation

Elected by acclamation

Elected by acclamation

Notices, Information and Candidates

In accordance with the Local Government Act's prescribed timelines, School District No. 73 will post notices and information for candidates and voters here, including:

  • Notice of Nomination
  • 2022 Trustee Election Candidates
  • Declaration of Elections by Voting or Acclamation
  • Notice of Elections by Voting

Qualifications for Office

A person is qualified to be nominated, elected, and to hold office as a School Trustee if they meet the following criteria:

  • Canadian citizen;
  • 18 years of age or older on general voting day October 15, 2022;
  • Resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day nomination papers are filed; and
  • Not disqualified under the School Act or any other enactment from being nominated for, being elected to or holding office as a trustee, or be otherwise disqualified by law

Campaign Expense Limits

In accordance with the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act, for the 2022 General Local Election, the following expense limits for candidates during the campaign period apply:

  • Area 1 School Trustee - $33,959.40
  • Area 2 School Trustee - $  5,398.92
  • Area 3 School Trustee - $  5,398.92
  • Area 4 School Trustee - $  7,812.72
  • Area 5 School Trustee - $  5,398.92

In accordance with the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act, for the 2022 General Local Election the following third party advertising limits apply: 

  • Area 1 School Trustee - $1,697.97
  • Area 2 School Trustee - $  809.84
  • Area 3 School Trustee - $  809.84
  • Area 4 School Trustee - $  809.84
  • Area 5 School Trustee - $  809.84

For further information on campaign expense limits and third party advertising limits, please contact Elections BC:

Toll-free phone: 1-855-952-0280 

If you would like further information on the election process, please contact:

David Poulin, Chief Election Officer
Phone (Cell): 250-320-3374
Email Dr. David Poulin

Trina Cassidy, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Phone (Office): 250-374-0679
Email Trina Cassidy

Contact Us